FAQ - School Closure & COVID-19

Frequently Asked Questions - School Closure & COVID-19

We are receiving many questions from parents and community members regarding school closures in relation to the COVID-19 virus. To ensure we are responding to all those who have submitted questions, and sharing information to equally to all parents, guardians, and stakeholders, general questions and concerns will be addressed on this page. Visit this page frequently as it will be updated regularly. Have a question that isn't answered on this page? Submit it here.

How will the school closure impact summer break? Will time need to be made up?

Students will not have to make up any days that are being missed during this school closure. Enough minutes were built into the 2019-2020 calendar to cover the closure during March 16-20. Beginning March 23, we are offering Distance Learning that will count toward student attendance

How will this affect seniors graduating this year?

Seniors need to continue their course work, make sure they did not owe any attendance hours from the first semester, and contact your counselor (Rachelle King at rking@apisd.org or Steven Schoelman at sschoelman@apisd.org), teachers, and principals (Michelle Hale at mhale@apisd.org or Michael Zaroksy at mzarosky@apisd.org) with any questions. We will continue to monitor and update events relating to seniors.

My family recently moved into/out of the area - how do I enroll/withdraw my child(ren)?

For parents wishing to enroll new students into our district or withdraw a student if moving, please email Diane Genovese at dgenovese@apisd.org to set up an appointment to complete the enrollment process. We will then place your student with a teacher that will work with your child to offer distance learning opportunities.

My child receives special education/ELL/dyslexia services - how will they continue to receive these services?

Parents of students receiving special education services, ELL services, dyslexia services, or other special services will be contacted by their child's teachers. Parents my reach out by emailing their child's teacher at any time and/or by contact Chris Johnson, the Special Programs Director at cjohnson@apisd.org, or Shelley Dominguez, Curriculum Director at sdominguez@apisd.org.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.